History and museums
Otrobanda, Curaçao is one of the historically important quarters of Willemstad, the capital of Curaçao. It contains many of the over 800 UNESCO World Heritage Site registered architectural monuments. The development of Otrobanda picked up in the early 19th century, when the once walled city of Punda became over populated. Otrobanda was connected to Punda in 1888 via the Queen Emma Bridge (affectionately known as "The Swinging Old Lady") and in 1974 by the Queen Juliana Bridge.
In recent years a large part of Otrobanda has been restored, including Kura Hulanda by Jacob Gelt Dekker.
Other notable restorations are the Santa Famia Catholic Church on the Mgr. Niewindtstraat. At number 20 Mgr. Niewindtstraat is a unique, late colonial home that was completed in 1904, 10 years before the Shell Oil Refinery (now ISLA) brought concrete technology to Curacao. This once family home has been Poppy Hotel Curacao since 2012 and operates as a guesthouse for tourists. The 2006 restoration of this UNESCO Willemstad listed home is outlined in this article