The Photographers' Gallery, London, UK | CruiseBe
No votes yet

The Photographers' Gallery

History and museums
attractions, sightseeing, culture, art museum, art gallery

The Photographers' Gallery was founded in London in 1971, and was the first independent gallery in Britain that was devoted entirely to photography. It also hosts a café and bookshop.

Exhibitions in the gallery have included one-person exhibitions of work by André Kertész, Danny Treacy, Taryn Simon, Ori Gersht, Cuny Janssen, Indrė Šerpytytė and David King. The Gallery hosts the annual Deutsche Börse Photography Prize.



The Photographers' Gallery was the first public gallery in London to exhibit key names in international photography, such as Juergen Teller (fashion), Robert Capa (photojournalism), Sebastiao Salgado (documentary), and Andreas Gursky (contemporary art). Originally based in a converted Lyons tea bar on Great Newport Street near Leicester Square, The Photographers' Gallery moved to a former textile warehouse on Ramillies Street in Soho, in December 2008.

Until 2008 there were plans to construct an all-new building. Instead, Irish architects O'Donnell and Tuomey designed an extension to the existing brick and steel warehouse. After closing for redevelopment in autumn 2010, the new building opened in 2012 at a cost of £9.2m. £3.6m of the cost came from Arts Council England, £2.4m from the sale of its previous building and £2.5m from foundations, trusts, corporate sponsors and an auction.

Deutsche Börse Photography Prize

The Deutsche Börse Photography Prize is a prize that annually rewards a photographer who has made the most significant contribution to the photographic medium in Europe during the past year. The prize was set up in 1996 by The Photographers' Gallery. Between 1997 and 2004, the prize was known as the Citigroup Photography Prize. Deutsche Börse has sponsored the competition since 2005, with a £30,000 prize. It has been described as "the biggest of its kind in photography in Europe" and "the most prestigious".

Bar-Tur Photobook Award

The Photographers' Gallery and Amnon Bar-Tur organise the annual Bar-Tur Photobook Award. It publishes a photographer's first book with a partnering independent publisher, allowing them £20000 with which to do so. It was established in 2014 in memory of the British artist Ann Lesley Bar-Tur, with money from her family. The award is open to people who are studying or have graduated from a UK-based visual arts course within the previous five years. Runners-up receive £1000 each.

In 2014 Angus Fraser won with Santa Muerte, published by Trolley Books. In 2015 Jack Latham won with Sugar Paper Theories; the runners-up were Sebastián Bruno, Eugenio Grosso, Nikolas Ventourakis and Luisa Whitton.


Text is available under Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0