University of Tromsø, Norway | CruiseBe
Average: 9.1 (10 votes)

University of Tromsø

History and museums
attractions, sightseeing, education, university

The University of Tromsø - The Arctic University of Norway (Norwegian: Universitetet i Tromsø – Norges arktiske universitet; is the world's northernmost university. Located in the city of Tromsø, Norway, it was established in 1968, and opened in 1972. It is one of eight universities in Norway. The University of Tromsø is the largest research and educational institution in northern Norway. The University's location makes it a natural venue for the development of studies of the region's natural environment, culture, and society.

The main focus of the University's activities is on the Auroral light research, Space science, Fishery science, Biotechnology, Linguistics, Multicultural societies, Saami culture, Telemedicine, epidemiology and a wide spectrum of Arctic research projects. The close vicinity of the Norwegian Polar Institute, the Norwegian Institute of Marine Research and the Polar Environmental Centre gives Tromsø added weight and importance as an international centre for Arctic research. Research activities, however, are not limited to Arctic studies. The University researchers work within a broad range of subjects and are recognised both nationally and internationally.

On January 1, 2009 the University of Tromsø merged with Tromsø University College.

On August 1, 2013 the university merged with Finnmark University College to form Universitetet i Tromsø – Norges arktiske universitet (The University of Tromsø – The Arctic University of Norway), thereby adding campuses in Alta, Hammerfest and Kirkenes.


Faculties and other units

Faculty of Health Sciences

  • Department of Medical Biology
  • Department of Community Medicine
  • Department of Clinical Medicine
  • Department of Pharmacy
  • Department of Clinical Dentistry
  • Department of Psychology
  • Department of Health and Care Science

Faculty of Science and Technology

  • Department of Physics and Technology
  • Department of Geology
  • Department of Computer Science
  • Department of Engineering and Safety
  • Department of Chemistry
  • Department of Mathematics and Statistics
  • Centre for Theoretical and Computational Chemistry

Faculty of Humanities, Social Sciences and Education

  • Department of Archaeology and Social Anthropology
  • Department of Philosophy
  • Department of History and Religious Studies
  • Department of Culture and Literature
  • Department of Education
  • Department of Sociology, Political Science and Community Planning
  • Department of Language and Linguistics
  • The Barents Institute
  • Centre for Women's and Gender
  • Research Centre for Peace Studies, Tromsø (CPS)
  • Centre for Sami Studies
  • Center for Advanced Study in Theoretical Linguistics

Faculty of Biosciences, Fisheries and Economics

  • Department of Arctic and Marine Biology
  • Norwegian College of Fishery Science
  • School of Business and Economics (HHT)

Faculty of Fine Arts

  • Department of Music, Dance and Drama
  • Academy of Contemporary Art and Creative Writing

Faculty of Law

Finnmark Faculty

  • Institutt for sosialfag
  • Institutt for idrettsfag
  • Institutt for reiseliv og nordlige studier

Other units

  • Tromsø University Museum
  • The University Library of Tromsø
  • Barentsinstituttet (The Barents' Institute) is owned by the university, as of 2012.

Honorary doctors

Notable employees

  • Nils Jernsletten

The ravens in the university's logo are Huginn and Muninn. In Norse mythology, Hugin and Munin travel the world for Odin, bringing him news and information. Huginn represents thought and Muninn memory. Ravens are an early Norse symbol, used f.ex. on the raven banner.


Text is available under Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0